E.P ODUM SCHOOL OF ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES ASSAM UNIVERSITY, SILCHAR

F. No. EPO-SOES/SB/2015-16/

1st April, 2015

Minutes of the 42nd School Board meeting held on 1st April, 2015 at 2.30 pm in the Department of Ecology and Environmental Science. Professor Abhik Gupta, Dean, E.P. Odum School of Environmental Sciences, and Chairman, School Board, presided over the meeting.

Members present:

1.	Prof.Abhik Gupta, Dean, EPO-SES	(Chairman)
2.	Prof. A.K. Das, Ecol. Env. Sc.	(Member)
3.	Prof.D.C.Ray, Ecol. Env. Sc.	(Member)
4.	Prof. Jayashree Rout, HOD, Ecol. Env. Sc.	(Member)
5.	Dr. Mithra Dey, Ecol. Env. Sc.	(Member)
6.	Dr. Aparajita Dey, Ecol. Env. Sc.	(Member)
7.	Dr. S.K. Ghosh, Dept. of Biotechnology, AUS	(Member)
8.	Prof. N. Pandey, Dean, School of Earth Sciences,	AUS (Member)
9.	Dr. Seba Roy, G.C. College, Silchar	(Member)

At the outset, Prof. Abhik Gupta, Chairman of the School Board, welcomed all the members to the 42nd School Board meeting of the School of Environmental Sciences. Thereafter the agenda items were taken up for discussion.

Item No.1: Confirmation of the minutes of the 41st School Board meeting:

The minutes of the 41st school board meeting held on 28th August, 2014 were confirmed.

Item No.2: Ph.D. final registration

The applications for Ph.D. final registration of 10 candidates as listed below along with the progress reports were placed in the meeting. The candidates delivered their final registration seminar in presence of experts within 18 months. The members approved the reports after incorporating suggestions and forwarded the same for placing in the Board of Research Studies (BRS) meeting for consideration. The details regarding the Ph.D. final registration topics are enclosed separately.

Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Abul Fazal Mazumder
2	Arpita Dalal
3	Demsai Reang
4	Priyanka Sarkar
5	Poppy Rajbongshi
6	Nami Prasad
7	Aahen Chanu Waikhom
8	Karabi Pathak

9	Mukta Chandra Das
10	Biplab Brahma

Item No. 2: Modification of Ph.D. thesis title:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Arpita Dalal
2	Priyanka Sarkar

Item No.3: Ph. D. Awarded during September 2014 to March 2015

The name of the candidates to whom Ph.D. has been awarded during September 2014 to March 2015 are given below. These cases were forwarded to the School board for record.

Name of the candidates:

Sl. No	Name
1	Rosalind Thingbaijam
2	Soram Inaobi Singh
3	Sharmila Naosekpam
4	Sishirendu Das
5	Ranjana Rajkumari
6	Reshma Khatoon
7	Kh. Romesh Singh

Item No.4: Ph.D. Re-registration

The applications received from the candidate listed below for re-registration were discussed as the candidate had completed 5 years from the date of provisional registration. Re-registration of the candidate was approved by the members favourably and forwarded to the Board of Research Studies for consideration.

Name of the Candidate:

Sl. No	Name	Re-registration
		w.e.f.
1	Kripaljyoti Mazumder	31/03/2015

Item No.5: Extension of time for submission of Ph.D. thesis for 1 year after completion of 4 years.

Applications were received from twenty eight (28) candidates for one year extension after completion of normal tenure of 4 (four) years from the date of provisional registration. It was placed in the meeting and approved for onward transmission to the Board of Research Studies for consideration.

Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Nikhil Chandra Das
2	Abdur Rezzak Ahmed
3	Jayalaxmi Ningthoujam
4	Yumnam Nganthoi Devi
5	Anuradha Das
6	Rinju Bharali
7	Ngangom Nganbi Devi
8	Laitonjam Bedabati Chanu
9	Sujata Sarkar
10	Debajit Rabha
11	Jenita Thokchom
12	Pampi Sharma
13	Banasree Sharma
14	Haorongbam Nandakumar Singh
15	Moirangthem Thajamanbi
16	Keisham Bijyalakshmi Devi
17	Laimayum Bidyalaxmi Devi
18	Apurba Chakraborty
19	Md Anisur Rahman
20	Leishangthem Ranibala Devi
21	Silu Basumatary
22	Rekha Bora
23	Rita Nongmaithem
24	Ningombam Babyrose Devi
25	Laiphrakpam Linthoingambi
26	Mairembam Thoibi Devi
27	Malabika Bhattacharjee
28	Bipasha Dev Gupta

Item No.6: Extension of time for submission of M.Phil. dissertation.

The applications received from two (02) candidates for extension of time for one semester after completion of 3 semesters from the date of provisional registration has been discussed and approved by the board members.

Sl.No	Name	
1	Arundhati Gogoi	One semester
2	Shilpa Shyam	One semester

Item No. 7: Panel of Examiners for the evaluation of Ph.D. thesis of eight (08) candidates.

Sl. No Name of the candidate

- Th. Gopeshwor Singh
 Nimisha
- 3 Bidisha Chakraborty
- 4 Khuraijam Ellora
- 5 Mondakini Soren
- 6 Moirangthem Banita Devi
- 7 Bijita Barman
- 8 Malabika Bhattacharjee

Item No. 8: Ph.D. pre-submission seminar

Eleven Ph.D./ two M.Phil. research scholars listed below presented their Ph.D./M.Phil. pre-submission seminar in the presence of expert members. The experts approved the theses for submission. The candidates were considered by the board members and recommended to the Board of Research Studies for record.

<u>Ph.D</u>.

- 1. Oinam Ibotombi Devi
- 2. Ashraful Hussain
- 3. Bhaswati Sarma
- 4. Soma Datta
- 5. Mofidul Islam
- 6. Anup Dey
- 7. Rinju Bharali
- 8. Jogesh Laishram
- 9. Naba Jyoti Borah
- 10. L. Sarnabati Devi
- 11. Soumya Dasgupta

<u>M.Phil.</u>

- 1.Laishram Mema Devi
- 2. Rashmi Rekha Bhagawati

Item No.9: Syllabus structure

Syllabus structure (CBCS) prepared by the Dept. of Ecology & Environmental Science was placed in the meeting. After threadbare discussion members of the committee recommended the syllabus for onward transmission to Academic Council.

Item No.10: AOB

Typographical Error:

The Ph.D. thesis title of Apurba Chakraborty was notified as "Studies of some communicable diseases in relation to environmental scenario of Cachar district, Assam India". There due to typographical error 'on' was written as 'of'.

Corrected title should be—"Studies on some communicable diseases in relation to environmental scenario of Cachar district, Assam, India".

Members of the committee recommended the same.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to and from the chair.

(Prof. Abhik Gupta) Dean, EPOSES & Chairman, School Board Dept. of Ecology & Environmental Science Assam University, Silchar

Copy to:

- (i) P.S. to V.C. for kind information of the Vice Chancellor
- (ii) The Registrar, Assam University, Silchar
- (iii) HOD, Ecology & Envtl. Science
- (iv) All members of the School Board
- (v) File